Phillip N. Butler

2014-07-03 A Vietnam War POW takes America to task over its treatment of a Taliban POW Recently released prisoner of war U.S. Army Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl is a man I can identify with. On April 20, 1965, I was flying a night combat mission in an A4C Skyhawk over what was then called North Vietnam. My own bombs malfunctioned upon release during a run on enemy trucks. They exploded just below my airplane, blowing the wings and tail section off. Instantly I was in a whirling cockpit hurtling toward Earth, over enemy territory, but managed to eject and parachute to the ground. I spent the next four days on the run through the jungle before being captured. I then spent the next 2,855 days as a captive POW in North Vietnam.http://www.montereycountyweekly.com/news/cover/a-vietnam-war-pow-takes-america-to-task-over-its/article_524e0dda-0235-11e4-b70f-0017a43b2370.html

Phillip N. Butler – Wikipedia  the eighth-longest-held U.S. Prisoner of War (POW) held in North Vietnam during the Vietnam War.   After his release Butler earned a PhD in sociology and used his communication skills to provide leadership training in military and civilian life. Butler provided community service as President of Veterans for Peace. In October 2019 Butler was inducted into the Oklahoma Military Hall of Fame  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phillip_N._Butler

About mekorganic

I have been a Peace and Social Justice Advocate most all of my adult life. In 2020 (7.4%) and 2022 (21%), I ran for U.S. Congress in CA under the Green Party. This Blog and website are meant to be a progressive educational site, an alternative to corporate media and the two dominate political parties. Your comments and participation are most appreciated. (Click photo) .............................................. Created and managed by Michael E. Kerr
This entry was posted in Nuremberg Actions Activists and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment